Application examples are often more helpful than detailed explanations. Therefore, here are some sample map definitions made available. The corresponding map can be reproduced from each definition file via the cli client.

Creation of the maps:


The internal Template (Webmercator, 1:20.000, 420x594 mm) is often the starting point for your own maps. First you create a template and then adapt it to your own requirements. For the first steps with printmaps it is also recommended to create a map from the template. Afterwards one is familiar with the basic procedure of the map production.

Creation of the map based on the template:


Example (Webmercator, 1:5.000, 600x600 mm, Download) for displaying a track. The user data are available in gpx format.


Example (Webmercator, 1:5.000, 600x600 mm, Download) for displaying different user data and elements. The user data are available in gpx, kml, csv-wkt and geojson format. The graphical user elements are in svg and png format.


Example (Webmercator, 1:5.000, 841x1189 mm, Download) for creating a map poster. The map design "schwarzplan+" was used.


Example (Webmercator, 1:2.500, 600x600 mm, Download) for the creation of a city map. The grid division (csv-wkt-format) and labeling is made via user specifications. The road reference is still to be created. The raw data for this can be determined, for example, via an Overpass API query and (in a prepared form) placed as a legend on the map.


Example (Webmercator, 1:50.000, 900x900 mm, Download) for highlighting a map area by out-masking (overdrawing) the adjoining federal state polygons (in geojson format).


Example (Webmercator, 1:100.000, 1000x1000 mm, Download) for presenting your own data (german constituencies 2017 in shape format) on a neutral (monochrome) map background.


Example (Webmercator, 1:2.500, 841x594 mm, Download) for a map application at the fire brigade. The user data (hydrants, suction points) are in geojson format, the associated user icons are SVG graphics.

Creation of the map:


Smaller print formats (Webmercator, 1:5.000, A4=210x297 mm, A3=297x420 mm , A2=420x594 mm) can also be output on standard office printers.

Download DIN-A4 Download DIN-A3 Download DIN-A2

Example (Webmercator, 1:5.000, 841x1189 mm, Download) of an artistically designed map. All map objects (including the background) are based on user data. The first step is to extract the user data from the OSM map data and save it in gpx format.


Example (Webmercator, 1:20.000, 420x594 mm, Download) for a map with lat/lon coordinate grid. The coordinate grid was generated in GeoJSON format and as user object rendered on the map.


Example (UTM Zone 32N, 841x841 mm, Download) for a map set with UTM coordinate grid and UTM projection. The coordinate grid was generated in GeoJSON format and rendered as a user object on the map. The set consists of maps with the following scales:

The maps are generated with the projection EPSG:32632 (WGS 84 / UTM Zone 32N, Universal Transverse Mercator Projection). The grid is labeled with UTMREF/MGRS values. The maps meet the requirements of German rescue services.


Beispiel (British National Grid, 1:25.000, 841x841 mm, Download) for a map with British coordinate grid and British National Grid projection. The coordinate grid exists as a shape file and is drawn as an user object on the map. The map is generated with the projection EPSG:27700 (OSGB 1936 / British National Grid).


Beispiel (LV95, 1:25.000, 841x841 mm, Download) for a map with a Swiss coordinate grid and LV95 projection. The coordinate grid was generated via a Lua program in GeoJSON format and rendered as an user object on the map. The map is generated with the projection EPSG:2056 (CH1903+ / LV95).

Anwendungsbeispiele sind oft hilfreicher als ausführliche Erklärungen. Deshalb werden hier einige beispielhafte Kartendefinitionen zur Verfügung gestellt. Aus jeder Definition kann über den CLI-Client die entsprechende Karte reproduziert werden.

Erzeugung der Beispielkarten:


Das interne Template (Webmercator, 1:20.000, 420x594 mm) stellt oftmals die Ausgangsbasis für eigene Karten dar. Man erzeugt also zunächst ein Template und paßt es dann an die eigenen Anforderungen an. Für die ersten Schritte mit Printmaps empfiehlt es sich, aus dem Template eine Karte zu erzeugen. Anschließend ist man mit dem grundsätzlichen Ablauf der Kartenerzeugung vertraut.

Erzeugung der Karte aus dem Template:


Beispiel (Webmercator, 1:5.000, 600x600 mm, Download) für die Darstellung eines Tracks. Die Benutzerdaten liegen im gpx-Format vor.


Beispiel (Webmercator, 1:5.000, 600x600 mm, Download) für die Darstellung verschiedener Benutzerdaten und -elemente. Die Benutzerdaten liegen im gpx-, kml-, csv-wkt und geojson-Format vor. Die grafischen Benutzerelemente im svg- und png-Format.


Beispiel (Webmercator, 1:5.000, 841x1189 mm, Download) für die Erstellung eines Karten-Posters. Verwendet wurde der Kartenstil "schwarzplan+".


Beispiel (Webmercator, 1:2.500, 600x600 mm, Download) für die Erstellung eines Stadtplans. Die Rastereinteilung (csv-wkt-Format) und -beschriftung erfolgt über Benutzervorgaben. Das Straßenverzeichnis ist noch zu erstellen. Die Rohdaten dafür können zum Beispiel via Overpass-API-Abfrage ermittelt und (in aufbereiteter Form) als Legende auf der Karte platziert werden.


Beispiel (Webmercator, 1:50.000, 900x900 mm, Download) für die Hervorhebung eines Kartenbereiches durch Ausmaskierung (Überzeichnen) der angrenzenden Bundeslandpolygone (im geojson-Format).


Beispiel (Webmercator, 1:100.000, 1000x1000 mm, Download) für die Präsentation eigener Daten (Wahlkreise 2017 im shape-Format) auf einem neutralen (monochromen) Kartenhintergrund.


Beispiel (Webmercator, 1:2.500, 841x594 mm, Download) für eine Kartenanwendung bei der Feuerwehr. Die Benutzerdaten (Hydranten, Saugstellen) liegen im geojson-Format vor, die dazugehörigen Benutzericons sind SVG-Grafiken.


Kleinere Druckformate (Webmercator, 1:5.000, A4=210x297 mm, A3=297x420 mm , A2=420x594 mm) können auf üblichen Bürodruckern ausgegeben werden.

Download DIN-A4 Download DIN-A3 Download DIN-A2

Beispiel (Webmercator, 1:5.000, 841x1189 mm, Download) für eine künstlerisch gestaltete Karte. Alle Kartenobjekte (auch der Hintergrund) basieren auf Benutzerdaten. Im ersten Arbeitsschritt sind die Benutzerdaten aus den OSM-Kartendaten zu extrahieren und im gpx-Format zu speichern.


Beispiel (Webmercator, 1:20.000, 420x594 mm, Download) für eine Karte mit lat/lon-Koordinatengitter. Das Koordinatengitter wurde im GeoJSON-Format generiert und als Benutzerobjekt auf die Karte gezeichnet.


Beispiel (UTM Zone 32N, 841x841 mm, Download) für ein Kartenset mit UTM-Koordinatengitter und UTM-Abbildung. Das Koordinatengitter wurde im GeoJSON-Format generiert und als Benutzerobjekt auf die Karte gezeichnet. Das Set besteht aus Karten mit folgenden Maßstäben:

Die Karten werden mit der Projektion EPSG:32632 (WGS 84 / UTM Zone 32N, Universale Transversale Mercatorabbildung) erzeugt. Das Gitter wird mit UTMREF/MGRS-Angaben beschriftet. Die Karten entsprechen den Anforderungen deutscher Rettungsdienste.


Beispiel (British National Grid, 1:25.000, 841x841 mm, Download) für eine Karte mit Britischem Koordinatengitter und British National Grid Abbildung. Das Koordinatengitter liegt als Shape-Datei vor und wird als Benutzerobjekt auf die Karte gezeichnet. Die Karte wird mit der Projektion EPSG:27700 (OSGB 1936 / British National Grid) erzeugt.


Beispiel (LV95, 1:25.000, 841x841 mm, Download) für eine Karte mit Schweizer Koordinatengitter und LV95-Abbildung (Winkeltreue Schiefachsige Mercatorprojektion). Das Koordinatengitter wurde über ein Lua-Programm im GeoJSON-Format generiert und als Benutzerobjekt auf die Karte gezeichnet. Die Karte wird mit der Projektion EPSG:2056 (CH1903+ / LV95) erzeugt.